Ueno Park (上野公園 Ueno Kōen) is a spacious public park located in the Ueno section of Taitō, Tokyo, Japan. It occupies the site of the former Kan’ei-ji, a temple closely associated with the Tokugawa shoguns, who had built the temple to guard Edo Castle against the north-east, then considered an unlucky direction. The temple was destroyed during the Boshin War.
Ueno Park was established through an imperial land grant to the city of Tokyo by Emperor Taishō in 1924. The official name of the park is Ueno Onshi Kōen (上野恩賜公園), which can be translated as “Ueno Imperial Gift Park” (…wiki)